The flight of Harry Swift

You know in romantic comedies when the girl slips and falls only to be caught just in time by a handsome man?  Then they just happen to fall in love and get married?  My life is just like that.  Except without the falling in love and getting married part.  Mostly I just fall a lot.  Hollywood has given us false hope in several areas….

About a month ago I was flying home from CA.  I had been in Fresno for several months and during that time had read the last four Harry Potter books.  (Because why wouldn’t you read Harry Potter??)  I decided to take the books home with me and being the frugal person that I am decided to avoid spending 8 million dollars on baggage fees and just bringing a carry on.  If any of you have read the Harry Potter series you will know that it is amazing.  You will also know that each book weighs about 25lbs…..  No joke.

Moving forward.  I was in line to get on the plane with the boarding pass open on my phone (me being the tech genius that I am(see previous post))  As I reached the podium I rocked back slightly on my heels and the sheer volume of Harry Potterness in my backpack sent me flying back across the airport floor.  Some people are graceful when they slip, they can somehow maneuver their body in a way that you think they’re just adjusting their weight.  I was not born with this gifting.  The only thing I can compare it to is the sinking of the titanic.  No idea of any danger then before I knew it I was Rose, flailing around trying to figure out which end was up.  During the fall that seemed to last an eternity, my phone flew out of my hand, hit the floor and started playing some T-Swift.  Just to make the moment more magical….  I was helped up by a nice gentleman as everyone in line behind me stared….  Always a good confidence booster.  If this were a movie the tall handsome gentleman and I would be married by now.  Since it’s real life he sat behind me in the plane and did the whole awkward eye contact thing….

Thanks JK Rowling.  I needed that.

Leave a comment